What is the morula stage of embryonic development?

What is the morula stage of embryonic development?

Morula stage. A morula (Latin, morus: mulberry) is an early-stage embryo consisting of 16 cells (called blastomeres) in a solid ball contained within the zona pellucida.

How would you know that the development stage is already morula?

An early stage in post-fertilization development when cells have rapidly mitotically divided to produce a solid mass of cells (16 or more) with a “mulberry” appearance is called the morula stage. The morula stage is the final stage prior to the formation of a fluid-filled cavity called the blastocoel cavity.

Is morula the 16 cell stage?

Morula Cells (Mrl) The morula stage is usually defined as the stage in which the embryo consists of 16-32 cells.

What is the next development stage after the morula?

The morula then undergoes compaction in preparation for the next big event in embryogenesis, the formation of the blastocyst. At the compaction stage, cell junctions are formed and polarity to the zygote follows.

What is difference between blastomere and morula?

These cells are called blastomeres. The main difference between morula and blastula is that morula is a spherical mass of blastomeres, which are formed following the splitting of a zygote whereas blastula is an early developmental stage of the embryo, consisting of a spherical layer of cells filled with fluid.

What happens to the Embryoblasts?

The embryoblast is the source of embryonic stem cells and gives rise to all later structures of the adult organism. The trophoblast combines with the maternal endometrium to form the placenta in eutherian mammals.

How is a morula different from a blastula?

Morula is a solid structure with no fluid-filled cavity inside. But blastula is a hollow structure, due to the presence of fluid-filled space called blastocoel. Trophoblast cells are present in blastula unlike in morula. Unlike in blastula, morula consists of an inner and outer cell masses.

What happens during the germinal stage?

The germinal period (about 14 days in length) lasts from conception to implantation of the zygote (fertilized egg) in the lining of the uterus. During the first week after conception, the zygote divides and multiplies, going from a one-cell structure to two cells, then four cells, then eight cells, and so on.