What are the six holy days of obligation in the Catholic Church?

What are the six holy days of obligation in the Catholic Church?

Holy Days of Obligation in the Catholic Church

  • January 1: The Feast of Mary, the Mother of God.
  • 40 days after Easter Sunday: Ascension Thursday.
  • August 15: Assumption of Mary into heaven.
  • November 1: All Saints’ Day.
  • December 8: The Feast of the Immaculate Conception.
  • December 25: Christmas, the Nativity of Our Lord.

What are the 8 holy days of obligation?

The following days must also be observed: the Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Epiphany, the Ascension, the Body and Blood of Christ, Holy Mary the Mother of God, her Immaculate Conception, her Assumption, Saint Joseph, Saint Peter and Saint Paul the Apostles, and All Saints.

What are the Catholic holy days of obligation in Canada?

This is the case in Canada, where there are only two holy days of obligation: Christmas and Mary, Mother of God. In Canada, it must be noted that some of the other solemnities have been moved to Sundays (as with Ascension and Epiphany).

What holy day of obligation is 40 days after Easter?

Ascension Day
When is Ascension Day? Ascension Day is usually celebrated on the sixth Thursday following Easter, which marks 40 days from Easter Sunday.

What are the Catholic Holy Days of Obligation 2021?

Holy Days of Obligation in the 2021 Year

Date Holiday name Is obligatory in 2021?
Friday, January 1, 2021 Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God Yes
Thursday, May 13, 2021 Ascension of Jesus Yes
Sunday, August 15, 2021 Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Yes
Monday, November 1, 2021 All Saints’ Day No

Is Christmas 2021 a Holy Day of Obligation?

Christmas is a Holy Day of Obligation, and the faithful are required to attend Mass either Christmas Eve, Friday Dec. 1, is not a Holy Day of Obligation this year. So that means the normal Sunday obligation for Jan. 2 is in place, meaning the faithful may attend Mass either Sunday Jan.