Which among the following is not a Vedanga?

Which among the following is not a Vedanga?

Which of the following is not a vedanga? Notes: In Vedic literature the six Vedangas are: Siksa, Vyakarana, Chandas, Niruktas, Jyotisa and Kalpa. Brahmana is not a vedanga.

Which Vedanga deals with phonetics?

The Ashtadhyayi contains about 4000 sutras or aphorisms divided into four parts. Shiva sutras deal with phonetics or the accent and intonation of distinctive units of sound that form part of the word and letter sounds. Ashtadhyayi deal with the structure of words and sentences and their construction.

Who is known as father of anatomy?

Fabrica of Andreas Vesalius

How many limbs did ancient India have?

On Sadanga: The Six Limbs of Indian Art and Paintings.

How many Upanishads are there and what are they?

Around 108 Upanishads are known, of which the first dozen or so are the oldest and most important and are referred to as the principal or main (mukhya) Upanishads….Mukhya Upanishads.

Veda Yajur Veda
Recension Krishna Yajur Veda
Shakha Katha
Principal Upanishad Kaṭha

WHO has listed the sadanga or six limbs of Indian painting?

Shri Avanindra Nath Tagore

Who is the father of Indian plant anatomy?

Prof. P. Jayaraman

When did the study of anatomy begin?

1600 BC

What are the 11 major Upanishads?


  • Brhadaranyaka Upanishad.
  • Chandogya Upanishad.
  • Taittiriya Upanishad.
  • Aitereya Upanishad.
  • Kausitaki Upanishad.
  • Kena Upanishad.
  • Katha Upanishad.
  • Isha Upanishad.

How many Vedangas are there in total?

six Vedangas

What are the four Mahavakyas in Upanishads?

The Mahavakyas are: prajñānam brahma – “Prajñāna is Brahman”, or “Brahman is Prajñāna” (Aitareya Upanishad 3.3 of the Rig Veda) ayam ātmā brahma – “This Self (Atman) is Brahman” (Mandukya Upanishad 1.2 of the Atharva Veda)

What is the meaning of approaching and sitting near?

Answer: Explanation: Upanishad literally means ‘approaching and sitting near’ and the texts contain conversations between teachers and students. Niccherip5 and 3 more users found this answer helpful. Thanks 1.

What do you understand by Nirukta?

Nirukta (Sanskrit: निरुक्त, IPA: [n̪iɾuktɐ], “explained, interpreted”) is one of the six ancient Vedangas, or ancillary science connected with the Vedas – the scriptures of Hinduism. Nirukta is the systematic creation of a glossary and it discusses how to understand archaic, uncommon words.

What are main Upanishads?

Now let’s take a brief look at the background and composition of each of the 10 Main Upanishads.

  • Isavasya Upanishad. Expand this section.
  • Kena Upanishad. Expand this section.
  • Katha Upanishad. Expand this section.
  • Prasna Upanishad. Expand this section.
  • Mundaka Upanishad.
  • Mandukya Upanishad.
  • Taittiriya Upanishad.
  • Aitareya Upanishad.

Who first dissected human body?

Herophilus of Chalcedon

Which Veda is the largest?

The Rigveda

What Upanishad literally?

The word Upanishad literally means ‘sitting close to’ or ‘sitting near devoutedly’.

What religion contributed to the development of anatomical knowledge in ancient India?

There is evidence that ancient Hindus practiced science, especially medical science; they were adept in practical anatomy and knew how to apply anatomical knowledge to the practice of surgery.

What does Upanishads literally mean?

The literal meaning of upanishad, “sitting near devotedly,” brings picturesquely to mind an earnest disciple learning from his teacher. The word also means “secret teaching”—secret, no doubt, because a teaching vouchsafed only to those who are spiritually ready to receive and profit by it.

Who wrote Vedangas?


What do you mean by Vedanga?

The Vedanga (Sanskrit: वेदाङ्ग vedāṅga, “limbs of the Veda”) are six auxiliary disciplines of Hinduism that developed in ancient times, and have been connected with the study of the Vedas. These are: Shiksha (śikṣā): phonetics, phonology, pronunciation.

What religion is the Upanishads?

Upanishad, also spelled Upanisad, Sanskrit Upaniṣad (“Connection”), one of four genres of texts that together constitute each of the Vedas, the sacred scriptures of most Hindu traditions.

Which of the following is Vedanga?

The Vedanga are six auxiliary disciplines in the Vedic culture that developed in ancient times and has been connected with the study of the Vedas. These are Shiksha, Chhandas, Vyakarana, Nirukta, Kalpa and Jyotisha.

Which of the following Vedanga is related to metrics?

Which of the following Vedanga is related to metrics? Notes: There are six vedangas (limbs of Vedas) evolved for the proper understanding of the Vedas. These are Siksha (phonetics), Kalpa (rituals), Vyakarna (grammar), Nirukta (etymology), Chhanda (metrics) and Jyotisha (astronomy).