What is EAL3?

What is EAL3?

EAL3: Methodically Tested and Checked. Applies when developers or users require a moderate level of independently assured security and require a thorough investigation of the target of evaluation and its development, without substantial reengineering.

What EAL rating means?

Evaluation Assurance Level
An Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL) is a category ranking assigned to an IT product or system after a Common Criteria security evaluation. The level indicates to what extent the product or system was tested. A product or system must meet specific assurance requirements to achieve a particular EAL.

Why is Common Criteria important?

In short, Common Criteria provides assurance that the process of specification, implementation and evaluation of a computer security product has been conducted in a rigorous, standard and repeatable manner at a level that corresponds with its target use environment.

What are the types of assurance?

Types of assurance

  • Procurement and tendering. Procurement and tendering processes must be robust and fair to all the parties involved, such as contractors, consultants, and purchasers.
  • Contract management.
  • Probity.
  • Managing projects.
  • Managing risks.
  • Managing assets.
  • Governance.
  • Information systems.

What are the three levels of assurance?

In order of increasing level of rigor, accountants generally offer three types of assurance services: compilations, reviews and audits. What’s appropriate for your company depends on the needs of creditors or investors, as well as the size, complexity and risk level of your organization.

Why use EAL3 to secure legacy systems?

Such a situation may arise when securing legacy systems. EAL3 permits a conscientious developer to gain maximum assurance from positive security engineering at the design stage without substantial alteration of existing sound development practices.

What is EAL1 EAL7?

Evaluation Assurance Level. The Evaluation Assurance Level (EAL1 through EAL7) of an IT product or system is a numerical grade assigned following the completion of a Common Criteria security evaluation, an international standard in effect since 1999.

What does the EAL level measure?

The EAL level does not measure the security of the system itself, it simply states at what level the system was tested. To achieve a particular EAL, the computer system must meet specific assurance requirements. Most of these requirements involve design documentation, design analysis, functional testing, or penetration testing.

Which operating systems have been evaluated at EAL5?

XTS-400 (STOP 6) is a general-purpose operating system which has been evaluated at EAL5 augmented. LPAR on IBM System z is EAL5 Certified.