What are members of parliament called in Germany?

What are members of parliament called in Germany?

In German a member is called Mitglied des Bundestages (Member of the Federal Diet) or officially Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages (Member of the German Federal Diet), abbreviated MdB and attached.

Where is Hesse by the Rhine?

Situated in west-central Germany, the state of Hesse borders the German states of Lower Saxony, Thuringia, Bavaria, Baden-Württemberg, Rhineland-Palatinate, and North Rhine-Westphalia (starting in the north and proceeding clockwise). Most of the population of Hesse lives in the southern part, in the Rhine Main Area.

How long is a term in the Bundestag?

The Bundestag has 598 nominal members, elected for a four-year term; these seats are distributed between the sixteen German states in proportion to the states’ population eligible to vote.

What is the capital of Hessen Germany?

WiesbadenHessen / Capital
Hessen is bounded by the states of Lower Saxony to the north, Thuringia to the east, Bavaria to the southeast, Baden-Württemberg to the south, Rhineland-Palatinate to the west, and North Rhine–Westphalia to the northwest. Its capital is Wiesbaden. Area 8,152 square miles (21,114 square km). Pop.

How many cities are in Hessen Germany?

59 cities
The following table lists the 59 cities in Hesse with a population of at least 20,000 on December 31, 2017, as estimated by the Federal Statistical Office of Germany….List.

City Wiesbaden
2017 estimate 278,654
2011 Census 269,121
2017 land area 204 km²
2017 pop. density 1,366/km²

How many seats does the AfD have?


Party Constituency Total seats
Christian Democratic Union (CDU) 14,030,751 200
Social Democratic Party (SPD) 11,429,231 153
Alternative for Germany (AfD) 5,317,499 94

Who elects the chancellor in Germany?

The chancellor is elected by the Bundestag on the proposal of the federal president and without debate (Article 63 of the German Constitution). The current officeholder is Olaf Scholz of the SPD, who was elected in December 2021, succeeding Angela Merkel.

How does Germany count votes?

Germans elect their members of parliament with two votes. The first vote is for a direct candidate, who is required to receive a plurality vote in their electoral district. The second vote is used to elect a party list in each state as established by its respective party caucus.

Why is Wiesbaden capital of Hessen?

Cold War and contemporary history After World War II, the state of Hesse was established (see Greater Hesse), and Wiesbaden became its capital, though nearby Frankfurt am Main is much larger and contains many Hessian government offices.

What does AfD stand for in Germany?

Alternative for Germany

Alternative for Germany Alternative für Deutschland
Abbreviation AfD
Leader Tino Chrupalla
Deputy co-leaders Stephan Brandner Beatrix von Storch Alice Weidel
Parliamentary leaders Alexander Gauland Alice Weidel