How long a Chief Minister of a state holds office?

How long a Chief Minister of a state holds office?

This is procedurally established by the vote of confidence in the legislative assembly, as suggested by the governor of the state who is the appointing authority. They are elected for five years. The chief minister shall hold office during the pleasure of the governor.

Who is the longest serving Chief Minister of Rajasthan?

List of longest-serving Indian chief ministers

# Chief Minister State
29 Ashok Gehlot* (b. 3 May 1951) Rajasthan
30 Bimala Prasad Chaliha (26 March 1912 – 25 February 1971) Assam
31 Bansi Lal (26 August 1927 – 28 March 2006) Haryana
32 Narendra Modi (b. 17 September 1950) Gujarat

When did the first Chief Minister of Rajasthan serve the office?

Chief Ministers of Rajasthan

No Name Tenure
1 Heera Lal Shastri 7 April 1949
2 C. S. Venkatachari 6 January 1951
3 Jai Narayan Vyas 26 April 1951
4 Tika Ram Paliwal 3 March 1952

Who of the following have been the Chief Minister of Rajasthan for three or more times?

Detailed Solution. The correct answer is Ashok Gehlot. Ashok Gehlot has become the Chief Minister of Rajasthan for the third time. Before this, Gehlot became the Chief Minister for the first time in 1998 and for the second time in 2008.

Who is the first woman Chief Minister in India?

Sucheta Kripalani (née Majumdar; 25 June 1908 – 1 December 1974) was an Indian freedom fighter and politician. She was India’s first woman Chief Minister, serving as the head of the Uttar Pradesh government from 1963 to 1967.

Who is the second Chief Minister of Rajasthan?

Former Chief Ministers of Rajasthan

S.No. Name Period
1. Heera Lal Shastri 07-04-1949 to 05-01-1951
2. C.S. Venkatachari 06-01-1951 to 25-04-1951
3. Jai Narayan Vyas 26-04-1951 to 03-03-1952, 01-11-1952 to 12-11-1954
4. Tikaram Paliwal 03-03-1952 to 31-10-1952

How many people have been the Chief Minister of Rajasthan?

From 1949, 13 people have been Chief Minister of Rajasthan. Vasundhara Raje Scindia of the Bharatiya Janata Party is only female to serve as the chief minister of the state. After securing majority in 2018 assembly election, Ashok Gehlot of the Indian National Congress assumed office on 17 December 2018.

Who is the present cm of Rajasthan?

Ashok Gehlot (born 3 May 1951) is an Indian politician, currently serving his third term as Chief Minister of Rajasthan since December 2018. He is former Congress Party’s national general secretary and in-charge of organizations and training from March 2018 to 23 January 2019.

How is the government formed in Rajasthan?

Following elections to the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly, the state’s governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government. The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly.

Who are some famous politicians in Rajasthan?

About him: Hari Deo Joshi was a politician of India and a freedom fighter. He was born in Khandu village near Banswara. He became the leader of Indian National Congress in Rajasthan. 10. Shiv Charan Mathur About him: Shiv Charan Mathur was a Politian of India.