Who drove pace car in the Indy 500?

Who drove pace car in the Indy 500?

Danica Patrick
INDIANAPOLIS — Danica Patrick has been named the pace car driver for the 105th Indy 500.

How fast does the pace car go at the Indianapolis 500?

110 mph
How fast does the pace car go? The pace car starts the race at 110 mph – not a stretch for the IndyCar cars themselves which can achieve speeds of over 240mph in the draft.

What is an official pace car?

In motorsport, a safety car, or a pace car, is an automobile which limits the speed of competing cars or motorcycles on a racetrack in the case of a caution period such as an obstruction on the track or bad weather.

What year was the Mustang the Indy 500 pace car?

What Is the Mustang Indy Pace Car? A special edition Mustang called the Indy Pace Car Mustang was produced in 1979 to celebrate the second appearance that a Mustang served as a pace car for the Indy 500. The Indy Pace Car Mustang turned out to b a surprise hit for Ford, selling over 10,000 units.

Does the winner of the Indy 500 get the pace car?

Chevrolet has had a contract to provide the pace car for the Brickyard 400 since 1994. Since 1936, the winner of the race has traditionally been awarded a pace car.

What kind of car does Danica Patrick drive?

Chevrolet Corvette Stingray hardtop
Patrick was announced Wednesday as the pace car driver for IndyCar’s marquee event. She will drive a 2021 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray hardtop convertible to lead the field to green on May 30. It will be the first Corvette convertible since 2008 to pace “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

Is the Indy 500 pace car always a Corvette?

Every Indy 500 has used a pace car ever since. From 1936 it became traditional for the 500 winner to be awarded the pace car, but in ’65, the Ford Motor Company, fundamental to Team Lotus’s assault on the Indy 500, did not let its winner Jimmy Clark accept the keys to the Plymouth Sport Fury pace car.

Does the Indy 500 winner get the pace car?

Nearly all races at the time, as well as all Formula One races even to the present, utilize a standing start. In almost every year since 1936, it has been a tradition that the winner of the Indianapolis 500 be presented with one of that year’s pace cars (or a replica).

What year did Corvette pace Indy 500?

Camaros paced the Indianapolis 500 in 1967, 1969, 1982 and 1993. A Chevy Corvette was the official pace car in 1978. The Chevy Corvette pace car was driven by Chuck Yeager in 1986. The Ford pace car for the 23rd Running of the Indianapolis 500.

Who is driving the NASCAR pace car today?

Justin Holiday
Justin Holiday of the Indiana Pacers will drive the pace car at Sunday’s Verizon 200 at the Brickyard. The race marks the first time the NASCAR Cup Series will race on the road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Why did Eminem diss Danica Patrick?

In the song, Eminem referenced Patrick’s crash in the Greatest Spectacle in Racing as a metaphor for what he wants to do to rival rappers. Eminem is basically saying that he’s already forgotten her name, but remembers that she crashed a lot.

Who won the Indy 500 in 1989?

The race was sanctioned by USAC, and was included as part of the 1989 CART PPG Indy Car World Series. By season’s end, Fittipaldi became the fourth driver since 1979 to win the Indy 500 and CART championship in the same season. The win was also Patrick Racing ‘s third and final Indy victory.

How fast do Pontiacs go in the Indy 500?

They were the official pace car of that year’s Indianapolis 500. Car and Driver praised the TTA for its collectability, citing the coupe’s limited production and speed. In the magazine’s test, the Pontiac hit the quarter mile in 13.4 seconds and topped out at 153 miles per hour.

Who was the pace car driver at the Indy 500?

At the start of the race, Unser drove the pace car, and reported live from the car during the pace laps. Pit reporters Jack Arute and Brian Hammons were joined by Dr. Jerry Punch, who appeared at Indy for the first time. The telecast would go on to win the Sports Emmy award for ” Outstanding Live Sports Special .”

When did the Indianapolis 500 start?

1989 Indianapolis 500. Jump to navigation Jump to search. The 73rd Indianapolis 500 was held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana on Sunday, May 28, 1989. Two-time World Drivers’ Champion Emerson Fittipaldi of Brazil became the first foreign-born winner of the race since 1966.