Is Michigan getting rid of caregivers?
Caregivers were completely phased out of the licensed market by September 2020. Because the caregiver classification was created by a 2008, voter-passed ballot initiative, changes to the current system would require a 75% super-majority vote.
What does it mean to be a caregiver for medical Marijuanas?
The legal definition of a primary caregiver under California marijuana law. You qualify as a primary caregiver under California marijuana law if: You have been designated for that purpose by a legal medical marijuana user. You are consistently responsible for that person’s housing, health, and/or safety.
Can you be a patient and a caregiver in Michigan?
One person can act as a primary caregiver for up to five patients and assist them with their use of medical marijuana. As a caregiver, you can receive compensation for expenses, which might include the cost of providing your services or any expenses incurred while providing your services.
How much does it cost to get a caregiver card in Michigan?
The Application Fee is $40, with or without a designated caregiver.
Can home growers sell to dispensaries in Michigan?
Is home growing allowed in Michigan? Yes; medical marijuana patients can cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants at home. Additionally, under the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, adults aged 21 and older may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants at home.
Can Michigan caregivers sell to dispensaries?
HB 5319: Exempts the sale of marijuana from a registered primary caregiver or licensed specialty medical grower to a registered qualifying patient from the use tax. HB 5320: Updates a reference to definition of debilitating medical condition in the public health code.
How many plants can a caregiver have in Michigan?
A caregiver may cultivate up to 72 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility,10 which may be a room, a vehicle, or even an outdoor enclosure if the precise requirements of the statute are met.
What is primary caregiver?
What is a primary caregiver? Essentially, it is a person assisting an underaged child or a sick, elderly, or disabled relative. Any adult can become a primary caregiver for a relative in need, regardless of their education or experience.
How do I become a paid caregiver for a family member in Michigan?
To apply, contact the local Michigan Department of Health and Human Services in your county, or apply online using MI Bridges.
Does Michigan Medicaid pay family caregivers?
Based on Medicaid’s Cash and Counseling model, program participants can select their own caregivers. Friends and family members (with the exception of parents and spouses) can be paid for the care they provide. All other counties pay individual caregivers $9.65 / hour.