What are the 11 counties of Wales?

What are the 11 counties of Wales?

The historic counties of Wales are:

  • Monmouthshire (Sir Fynwy)
  • Glamorganshire (Sir Forgannwg or Morgannwg)
  • Carmarthenshire (Sir Gaerfyrddin or Sir Gâr)
  • Pembrokeshire (Sir Benfro)
  • Cardiganshire (Sir Aberteifi or Ceredigion)
  • Brecknockshire (Sir Frycheiniog)
  • Radnorshire (Sir Faesyfed)
  • Montgomeryshire (Sir Drefaldwyn)

What are the 8 counties of Wales?

The county boundaries in Wales changed following reorganisation in 1974 and these counties were replaced by eight new counties:

  • Clwyd.
  • Dyfed.
  • Gwent.
  • Gwynedd.
  • Mid Glamorgan.
  • South Glamorgan.
  • West Glamorgan.
  • Powys.

What are the 5 regions of Wales?

The five electoral regions are: Mid and West Wales, North Wales, South Wales Central, South Wales East, and South Wales West, with the forty constituencies listed below.

How many counties are in Wales?

For ceremonial purposes of Lieutenancy and Shrievalty, Wales is divided into eight preserved counties which are based on the counties created by the Local Government Act 1972 and used for local government and other purposes between 1974 and their abolition in 1996.

What counties make up Wales?


Name Comprises Area (km2)
Clwyd Conwy Denbighshire Flintshire Wrexham 2,910
Dyfed Carmarthenshire Ceredigion Pembrokeshire 5,780
Gwent Blaenau Gwent Caerphilly Monmouthshire Newport Torfaen 1,553
Gwynedd (preserved county) Gwynedd (county) Isle of Anglesey 3,262

How many counties are there in North Wales?

six counties
North Wales is divided into six counties – Anglesey, Gwynedd, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire and Wrexham.

What is the largest county in Wales?

Powys is by far the largest county in Wales. It encompasses a rugged landscape of valleys and mountains, including most of Brecon Beacons National Park, and the entire historic counties of Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire, most of Brecknockshire, and the southern edge of Denbighshire.

What are Welsh counties called?

The counties

County Welsh name Population (most recent)
Pembrokeshire Sir Benfro1 125,055
Cardiganshire Sir Aberteifi or Ceredigion2 72,992
Brecknockshire Sir Frycheiniog3 43,376
Radnorshire Sir Faesyfed3 25,821

What’s the capital of Wales?

CardiffWales / Capital

What are the 6 cities of Wales?

Find out more about the six cities Wales has to offer: Cardiff, Newport, Swansea, Bangor, St Davids and St Asaph.

Which is the largest county in Wales?

What is the smallest county in Wales?

Flintshire is the smallest historic county in Wales.

On April 1, 1996, the country of Wales was divided into 22 unitary authorities; this includes 9 counties, 3 cities and 10 county boroughs, although all have equal powers. Collectively these are known as the principal areas of Wales.

What county is Wales in?

North Wales is a borough in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, United States. It is a suburb of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and is one of the three historic population centers that make up the North Penn Valley .

Where is Wales located in Europe?

Wales is a country part of the United Kingdom and the island of Great Britain, bordered by England to its east and the Atlantic Ocean and Irish Sea to its west.

Where is southern Wales?

South Wales (Welsh: De Cymru) is the region of Wales bordered by England and the Bristol Channel to the east and south, and Mid Wales and West Wales to the north and west. The most densely populated region in the southwest of the United Kingdom, it is home to around 2.2 million people.