What is a Level 4 GCSE qualification?

What is a Level 4 GCSE qualification?

Level 4. Level 4 qualifications are: certificate of higher education ( CertHE ) higher apprenticeship. higher national certificate ( HNC )

What were S-level exams?

S-levels were an extra exam which candidates can take during their A-levels. Universities didn’t usually require an S-level, but many teachers enjoyed taking their better students in extra classes for S-levels as it stretched them and allowed them to be creative, whether they took the exam or not.

What are S levels in England?

The S-level or scholarship level was a General Certificate of Education (GCE) public examination in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, taken by the most able A-level students.

What are the grades for A levels?

An ‘advanced level’ or A-level is a qualification offered across a range of subjects to school-leavers (usually aged 16-18 years old), graded A*-E. A-levels are studied across two years: your AS year (Year 12) and your A2 year (Year 13).

What is A level 4 certificate equivalent to?

Level 4 qualifications are at a level equivalent to Certificates of Higher Education. Level 3 qualifications recognise the ability to gain, and where relevant apply a range of knowledge, skills and understanding. Learning at this level involves obtaining detailed knowledge and skills.

What was a GCE AO level?

The General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary Level, also called the O-level or O level, was a subject-based academic qualification. Later the complementary and more vocational Certificate of Secondary Education (CSE) was added to broaden the subjects available and offer qualifications in non-academic subjects.

What is S-level qualification?

Advanced level qualifications (known as A levels) are subject-based qualifications that can lead to university, further study, training, or work. You can normally study three or more A levels over two years. They’re usually assessed by a series of examinations.

What is a fail at A Level?

The fail grades were also divided into two types, one was where the student had failed to reach a level of pass that granted them an A-level but did grant them an O-level. The other fail meant that the student had not reached a pass level that warranted either an A-level grade or an O-level grade.

What are GCSE and A levels?

The General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) was first introduced in 1986. A-Levels, short for Advanced Levels, are a higher qualification than the GCSEs. A-Levels are subject-based qualifications that are divided into two stages.