What are the four jurisdiction of Supreme Court?

What are the four jurisdiction of Supreme Court?

The jurisdiction of the Court can be kept in four categories, viz., original, writ, appellate and advisory.

What are the jurisdiction powers of Supreme Court?

The jurisdiction and powers of the Supreme Court can be classified into the following:

  • Original Jurisdiction.
  • Writ Jurisdiction.
  • Appellate Jurisdiction.
  • Advisory Jurisdiction.
  • A Court of Record.
  • Power of Judicial Review.
  • Constitutional Interpretation.
  • Other Powers.

What is the right jurisdiction of Supreme Court?

The Supreme Court has also a very wide appellate jurisdiction over all Courts and Tribunals in India in as much as it may, in its discretion, grant special leave to appeal under Article 136 of the Constitution from any judgment, decree, determination, sentence or order in any cause or matter passed or made by any Court …

What 2 types of jurisdiction does the Supreme Court have?

The Supreme Court has both original and appellate jurisdiction and most of its cases come on appeal.

What are 3 types of cases in which the Supreme Court has original jurisdiction?

The Supreme Court’s original jurisdiction applies to cases involving: disputes between states, actions involving various public officials, disputes between the United States and a state, and proceedings by a state against the citizens or aliens of another state.

What is jurisdiction and types of jurisdiction?

Jurisdiction is the authority given to a legal body like a court to administer justice within a defined field of responsibility. The Supreme Court in India has three types of jurisdictions – original, appellate and advisory as provided in Articles 131, 133 – 136 and 143 respectively of the Indian Constitution.

How many jurisdiction are there in Supreme Court?

The scope of powers of Supreme Court to hear and decide cases is called its jurisdiction. The Supreme Court has three types of jurisdictions namely original, appellate and advisory. Let us now examine the three jurisdictions. There are certain cases which fall within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.

What do you mean by original jurisdiction of the Supreme Court?

In common law legal systems original jurisdiction of a court is the power to hear a case for the first time, as opposed to appellate jurisdiction, when a higher court has the power to review a lower court’s decision.

What are the 3 types of jurisdiction?

There are three types of jurisdictions:

  • Original Jurisdiction– the court that gets to hear the case first.
  • Appellate Jurisdiction– the power for a higher court to review a lower courts decision.
  • Exclusive Jurisdiction– only that court can hear a specific case.

What are the different jurisdictions?

The 5 Types of Jurisdiction That May Apply to Your Criminal Case

  • Subject-Matter Jurisdiction.
  • Territorial Jurisdiction.
  • Personal Jurisdiction.
  • General and Limited Jurisdiction.
  • Exclusive / Concurrent Jurisdiction.

Does Supreme Court have original jurisdiction?

Article III, Section II of the Constitution establishes the jurisdiction (legal ability to hear a case) of the Supreme Court. The Court has original jurisdiction (a case is tried before the Court) over certain cases, e.g., suits between two or more states and/or cases involving ambassadors and other public ministers.